Aviral Rajora (PhD candidate 2018-now)

After completing the fluids and solids mechanics track at Delft University of Technology, Aviral started a PhD project in the area of multiphase flow modelling in porous electrodes. While first thoroughly studying liquid and gas diffusion layers in electrolysers and fuel cells, he is now focusing on full cell modelling of CO2 electrolysers.

Linkedin  Researchgate

Joseph Blake (PhD candidate 2019-now)

Joe studied mathematics and physics at Warwick University. In co-supervision with Prof. Johan Padding he works on three-dimensional modelling of catalyst particles and layers in gas diffusion electrodes for CO2 reduction.

Abhiroop Bhadra (PhD candidate 2020-now)

Abhiroop graduated in Delft with a thesis on turbulent pulsatile pipe flows. He started his PhD research wthin the EU H2020 Melody project on modeling  membraneless hydrogen-bromine redox flow batteries.

Linkedin  Researchgate

Andrea Mangel Raventos (2017-now)

Supervised by Ruud Kortlever and collaborating with Fokko Mulder, Andrea collaborates in the area of muti-physics modeling of the battolyser concept.

Sohan Phadke (PhD candidate 2021-now)

After graduating cum laude from chemical engineering at TU Delft, Sohan joined within the RELEASE consortium. Co-supervised by Prof. Wiebren de Jong he is working on alkaline water electrolysis with a twist. Instead of maxking oxygen, Sohan will try to make the more valuable hydrogen peroxide at the anode.


Former group members

Hadi Rajaei (post-doctoral researcher 2018-now)

After a PhD in rotating Rayleigh-Bénard convection at Eindhoven University of Technology, Hadi works as aworks as a postdoctoral researcher in the area of alkaline water electrolysis. Besides fundamental experimental studies into microporous separators, and more innovative electrode designs, he thoroughly studies the feasibility and potential of membrane-less designs.

Linkedin  Researchgate

 MSc Students

Tom Kleist (2021) – Characterisation of flow and bubble phenomena in a high pressure alkaline water electrolyser, co-supervised with Jan van Kranendonk, Zero Emission Fuels, ZEF

Bas Lottman (2020) – Transient thermal and electrochemical modeling of alkaline water electrolysers, co-supervised with Thijs de Groot (Nouryon and TU/e)

lias Daniil (2020-now)- Transient modeling and control of a table-top electrolyzer, co-supervised with Jan van Kranendonk, Zero Emission Fuels, ZEF

Max Doorn (2019-now) , 3D-electrodes for organic flow electrochemistry, co-supervised by Roman Latsuzbaia, TNO

Niels Goos (2020) –  Electrochemical reduction of CO2 to CO in a flow-through electrolyser

Xihé (Cipher) Li (2019), Modelling of buoyancy-driven circulating bubbly flow

Karthik Sriram (2019), Thermal and flow characterisation of a small scale alkaline electrolysis system for hydrogen production, co-supervised with Jan van Kranendonk, Zero Emission Fuels, ZEF

Valerio Matrone (2018) : Visualization and analysis of different regimes in the flow over a porous electrolytic cell, cum laude, with Hadi Rajaei, Jerry Westerweel, Giovanni Paolo Romano (University Sapienza Rome)

Xiucheng (Roy) Huang: COMSOL modeling of gas-diffusion electrodes for CO2 reduction, co-supervised by Johan Padding (internship from university of Twente, with Bastian Mei)

Nitish Gadgill (2018) : Modeling a Flow-Cell for Electrochemical Reduction of Carbon Dioxide to Formate, cum laude, co-supervised by Anca Anastasopol, TNO

Guus de Koning (2018): Modelling the influence of morphology on electrochemical reduction of CO2 on silver nanowire electrodes, co-supervised with David Vermaas.

Wouter Maks (BSc thesis): 1D Simulation of Hydrogen Electrolysis using Porous Electrodes, co-supervised with Mahinder Ramdin

Kaushik Prasad (2017), Modelling and study of critical losses in a hydrogen-bromine redox flow battery system, co-supervision with Wiebrand Kout (Elestor) and Ludger Blum (FH Aachen)

Share or save